Organisation Organisation >
Name UOT – University of Tripoli
Where Tripoli, LIBYA

The Libyan University was established by a Royal Decree on 15th December 1955; the first faculty to be founded was the Faculty of Arts and Education in Benghazi. In 1957, the Faculty of Science was opened to become the core of the Libyan University in Tripoli. In 1966, the Faculty of Agriculture was founded. In 1961, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (The UNESCO) established the College of Higher Technical Studies which was incorporated in 1967 to the Libyan University as the Faculty of Engineering. In 1973, the Libyan University was divided into two: University of Benghazi and University of Tripoli. In 1976, the name of the University of Tripoli was changed to Al Fatah University. Medical Colleges became known as Al Fatah University for Medical Sciences. In 2012, the University regained its original name and the establishment of new faculties has reached to twenty faculties up to date.


The University seeks to: preparing competent and skilful individuals in response to society’s need to development; Exercising scientific research activity and producing knowledge that provide the best service to the human being, society and the world; Providing consultancy to state institutions and civil society; Educating the individual through various means and channels to be the ideal good citizen.


46 Suk el Giuma, Tripoli

Year 2017
Category Architecture Cultural Heritage Energy Resources
Target global
Title Underground Aqueducts: Types and Definitions
Year 2000
Nation Libya
Category Architecture
Target local
Title Contemporary Libyan Architecture: Possibilities vs. Realities